John Dumelo turns okada man as he storms Assin North to campaign for the NDC – ArtidlLife

– Commercial –

John Dumelo has been noticed supporting the get together’s candidate within the Assin North by-elections scheduled for this Tuesday, June 27 with NDC vying to maintain the seat

James Gyakye Quayson, who’s looking for re-election as a member of parliament and John Dumel along with different NDC stalwarts have stormed the place to supply him their unflinching assist.

Dumelo tweeted about his bike marketing campaign experience by Assin Kushea. He’s heard shouting the slogan of the NDC: ‘3y3 Zu’ with some supporters, not captured on digicam, responding ‘3y3 Za’.

– Commercial –

Recall that Supreme Court docket beforehand defined intimately why it believed James Gyakye Quayson’s election was invalid since, in keeping with the legislation, he was unable to run for the Assin North seat in 2020.

Based on the ruling by the apex courtroom, the date the Electoral Fee (EC) opens nominations, not the election or the swearing-in of MPs in Parliament, is when Article 94(2)(a) of the 1992 Structure, which prohibits somebody who owes allegiance to a different nation from turning into an MP, goes into impact.

As a result of his failure to surrender his Canadian citizenship earlier than making use of to run for the Assin North seat in October 2020 when the EC opened nominations for candidates, the courtroom decided that Mr. Quayson was constitutionally prohibited from working for the seat.

“We state with none equivocation that Article 94(2) (a) implies that to be certified to be a Member of Parliament, a citizen of Ghana should not maintain every other citizenship on the time when nominations are opened by the Electoral Fee for registration of candidates for election as Members of Parliament,” the courtroom held.

The unanimous determination of the seven-member panel was authored by Justice Nene Amegatcher, with Justice Jones Dotse presiding and Justices Mariama Owusu, Gertrude Araba Esaaba Sackey Torkornoo, Prof. Henrietta Mensa-Bonsu, Emmanuel Yonny Kulendi and Barbara Ackah-Yensu, as members.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button